Welcome to the Eighth District Dental Society

Hello all,

I hope you are all doing well and are following the COVID-19 preventive protocols that have been recommended in your county, as well as the guidelines that have been recommended by our NYS Governor, Andrew Cuomo, and the CDC. Hopefully, this unprecedented situation resolves soon, although there is no certainty as to its longevity. It is important to stay current with all of the news as it relates to the spread of COVID-19, as well as following the steps of frequent hand washing, covering coughs and sneezes, avoidance of crowds, social distancing, and self-monitoring, I am strongly recommending that all dentists be kept aware of the latest information available through the ADA, NYSDA, and of course the Eighth District Dental Society. Additionally, I would also suggest that all dentists sign up for Action Alerts through the ADA website at: https://www.ada.org/en/advocacy/get-involved/legislative-action-center 

It's simple. Just sign up with your email address and submit. This is an excellent source of “up to the minute” practical, economic and legislative information that will affect all of us.

In addition, to all who are interested and there is a desire to contribute as a medical/dental volunteer locally, please contact the Erie County Department of Health website, or 716-858-7690, or your Public Health Dept. in your county of residence. We have a tremendous amount of education, training, and willingness to contribute in many ways to help minimize the effects of this crisis. So, if possible, let’s contribute and hopefully shorten this unexpected, unwanted, and difficult period.

Please be safe, responsible, stay healthy, and act appropriately in reducing the spread of the Coronavirus. Thank you.

Warm and safe regards,

James C. Matteliano, DDS
2020 President

Eighth District Dental Society Upcoming Events